Go to top of page

Wind farms

A wind farm is an area of land with installed wind turbines, which uses wind to create energy [1, 2]. Electricity generation is the main use of wind energy in Australia [1, 2].

Australia’s wind industry included 76 operating wind farms in 2015 [3]. Australian wind farms are currently located in New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia.

  1. Australian Renewable Energy Agency. Wind energy.  [cited 13 January 2017];
  2. Geoscience Australia. Wind energy.  [cited 13 January 2017];
  3. Clean Energy Council. Clean Energy Australia: Report 2015. 2015: Melbourne, Australia.

Information on Australia’s wind industry can be found through various Commonwealth and state government sources, as well as industry associates. Some suggested sources of information provided here:

Wind farm locations

There are publicly available resources which provide information on wind farm locations in Australia.

The Australian Renewable Energy Mapping Infrastructure (AREMI) resource provides a data catalogue of electricity infrastructure, including wind power generation infrastructure that is connected to the National Electricity Market (NEM). Infrastructure connected to the NEM will include New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria. The AREMI resource also provides Australian wind speed information.

Western Australia wind farm locations are not included in the AREMI catalogue. The locations of wind farms generating electricity in the Western Australia market are available on the Australian Energy Market Operator (Western Australia)’s online generation map.

Wind farm electricity generation

The Renewable Energy Certificate registry is made available by the Clean Energy Regulator.

Actual generation is made publicly available by the Australian Energy Market Operator and can be accessed for the National Electricity Market and Wholesale Electricity Market.